Posted by: deerharas | September 22, 2005

09.22.05

“Number five.”

That’s what I told Detectives Locke and Moncrease this afternoon at the Bureau of Investigations after looking at a photo line up of potential assailants. 

It was a week ago that they caught the guy that robbed my friend and me.  Actually, it was an apartment security guard that cracked the case.  I’m still not totally clear on all the details of how they caught him, so I’ll save that for a later post.  Basically, what I know is that the “robber” is a transient who was just looking for a way to get to Norman.  He’s only 19 years old, but evidently already has a few felony convictions under his belt.  He’s not even from Oklahoma, and evidently by being in Oklahoma was breaking his parole.  He thought OKC had a curfew and didn’t want to get picked up by the cops and have them find out he was breaking parole, so he stole a car to avoid that.  He confessed to everything, so the detectives suspect the case won’t go to trial.  They estimated that he will be in jail for 25 to life, based on the load of evidence against him, his prior convictions, and the four charges currently filed against him (robbing my friend and I of our keys and cell phones, the attempted robbery of my car, and the successful robbery of hers). 

I cannot imagine being 19 years old and going to prison for 25 years.  It is absurd to think how one decision can change your life so drastically.  I realize that his prior decisions are playing a big role in the consequences of this one, but I’m still just amazed.  If in fact he does get 25 years, upon being released, he will have spent more time in prison than out of prison.  Crazy.

I think I want to contact him.  Definitely not now, but maybe sometime.  I don’t feel anger towards him; my loss was so minimal.  I feel really sad for him.  I feel sad that he got the point that he did.  I feel sad for the future that awaits him.  I think that he was living a hopeless life, and I’m sure that things seem even worse for him now.  I will be prayerfully considering what my future actions/words toward him should be, if any.  I will pray that God will turn this situation around and use it for His glory and His name’s renoun. 

On another (but not really lighter) note, last night in my Bible study, Stacey asked us the question, “What do you want on your tombstone, and what song do you want played at your funeral?”  My funeral song came to me instantly.  About a month ago, Fire and Rain came on the radio, and I just knew that if I lost someone I loved, I could remember them through this song.  When I was in middle school, I fell in love with JT listening to my mom’s greatest hits record (that’s right, record) over and over.  If I were to die young, I would definitely want this song played at my funeral. 

Fire and Rain – James Taylor

Just yesterday morning they let me know you were gone
Suzanne, the plans they made made put an end to you
I walked out this morning and I wrote down this song
I just can’t remember who to send it to

I’ve seen fire and I’ve seen rain
I’ve seen sunny days that I thought would never end
I’ve seen lonely times when I could not find a friend
But I always thought that I’d see you again

Won’t you look down upon me Jesus
You got to help me make a stand
You just got to see me through another day
My body’s achin’ and my time is at hand
And I won’t make it any other way

Oh I’ve seen fire and I’ve seen rain
I’ve seen sunny days that I thought would never end
I’ve seen lonely times when I could not find a friend
But I always thought that I’d see you again

Been walkin’ my mind to an easy time
My back turned towards the sun
Lord knows when the cold wind blows
It’ll turn your head around
Well, there’s hours of time on the telephone line
To talk about things to come
Sweet dreams and flying machines in pieces on the ground

Oh, I’ve seen fire and I’ve seen rain
I’ve seen sunny days that I thought would never end
I’ve seen lonely times when I could not find a friend
But I always thought that I’d see you, baby, one more time again now
Thought I’d see you one more time again
There’s just a few things comin’ my way this time around now
Thought I’d see you, thought I’d see you
Fire and rain

Leave a Reply

Categories

