Posted by: deerharas | January 10, 2006

01.10.06

Everyone can set their minds at ease … I am now properly vaccinated against Hepatits B, Measles, Mumps and Rubella.  As it turns out UCO requires a few immunizations that neither the Abilene Independent School District nor Oklahoma Baptist University felt necessary.  So far the past two days I have been scrambling around calling any doctor’s office or health clinic that might at some point have given me a shot in an effort to determine what shots I still currently need.  Lesson be learned: Don’t count on anyone but yourself to keep accurate shot records.  The records my dad sent me were from 1996.

So after my visit this morning to the Oklahoma City County Health Department, I have all my shots and the immunization record hold on my account has been removed.  You might be wondering why I had an account hold in the first place.  Well … I am now officially a student again.  After a year and a half of a much needed and much enjoyed break from academia, I have returned to the classroom.  I figured that I should stop wasting the tuition benefit provided to me as a part of my job and actually work toward something for the next year and a half.  So … I’m in graduate school … although it doesn’t really feel like it … at least not yet.

Gosh, it seems like no one really posts on Xanga anymore.  What’s the deal?

In other news, I am looking forward to three upcoming events … two of which just recently came up, so I’m still very much jazzed.

1.  I was asked to do a Disciple Now near Houston here in a couple weeks.  I haven’t seen my friend Stacey (www.xanga.com/paintedbison) in almost a year, and it looks like for a couple of days before the D-Now I’ll get to hang out with her and her sweet daughter (who I claim as my niece because let’s face it, my brother is 12 and there is no husband on the horizon, so it might be awhile before I’ll have real nieces and nephews).  I love Disciple Now!  My first Disciple Now had a profound impact on my spiritual life.  My leader was in love with the Lord; she was so authentic and mature.  Anyway, I get to fly down, so I don’t have to worry about being tired from driving like what … 8 hours?

2.  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again.  I have third row tickets to Coldplay in February!  Good times ahead.

3.  Surprisingly, over Spring Break, I’ll be attending an event with tickets more expensive than Coldplay.  My fabulous cousin got us 7th row tickets to a Spurs game the day before my birthday.  Although I know relatively little about basketball, I am way excited to get to go to a game with Jayme.  She’s obsessed with the Spurs in general and Tony Parker specifically.  It will be a ton of fun, and I love San Antonio.

Hmm … what else … I’m cramming a weeks worth of posts into one … I’m reading a book … my first Piper.  There’s some good stuff, although I really have to concentrate when I read him.  I’ll leave you with a personally convicting quote:

“God is glorified in his people by the way we experience him, not merely by the way we think about him.  Indeed the devil thinks more true thoughts about God in one day than a saint does in a lifetime, and God is not honored by it.  The problem with the devil is not his theology, but his desires.  Our cheif end is to glorify God, the great Object.  We do so most fully when we treasure him, desire him, delight in him so supremely that we let goods and kindred go and display his love to the poor and the lost.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

