Posted by: deerharas | January 18, 2006

01.18.06

Livin’ alone ain’t so bad

I ain’t blue, baby, I’m not sad

I’ve got everything I need here at home

I got spaghetti on the stove and my favorite blue jeans on

 

A few months ago, a friend asked me if I liked living by myself.  She was contemplating getting an apartment of her own after living with roommates for the past two years.  I hadn’t really weighed the positives and negatives of single living, but after being asked, I realized I really did like living alone … and for several reasons:

1)      I can keep my apartment in whatever state of cleanliness I desire.  If I leave dishes in the sink for more than a week, the only person I irritate is myself.

2)      I never have to wait to use the bathroom … there are no bathroom battles.  A married friend of mine used to live in an apartment with only one bathroom.  When he and his wife moved into an apartment with two, their relationship significantly improved.

3)      I have autonomous use of the remote control.

4)      I have a lot of freedom in the use of my time.  I can be spontaneous.  I can make last minute plans with a friend without having to consider another’s schedule.

5)      I can hit snooze as many times as I like without worrying about driving someone crazy.  ***Sidenote***  In high school, I fell victim to the lie of “power naps.”  I once spent an entire night waking up in 30 minute increments, resetting my alarm each time, promising myself that in another 30 minutes I would get up and finish my homework.

6)      My entire apartment is my inner room (Matthew 6:6).  I can have my quiet time on my bed, on my couch, on my living room floor or in my extremely comfortable chair and a half.  I can meet with the Lord early in the morning or late into the night, usually with no interruptions.  When I last had a roommate, I would literally have to go into my closet to have my quiet time.

 

In all reality, most of the benefits and freedoms of singleness/living alone, save maybe the spiritual solitude of my apartment, really only afford me the opportunity to be undisciplined and selfish.  The true benefit of singleness is the freedom to serve.  Paul said it best … “An unmarried woman or virgin is concerned about the Lord’s affairs: Her aim is to be devoted to the Lord in both body and spirit.  But a married woman is concerned about the affairs of this world – how she can please her husband.” 1 Corinthians 7:34.  It’s about time I was more concerned with my own devotion to the Lord than my own comfort.

 

More thoughts to come …  The afore-quoted lyrics, by the way, are from a song by Zane Williams.  He’s definitely worth checking out … www.zanesadventure.com.

Leave a Reply

Categories

