Posted by: deerharas | February 1, 2006

02.01.06

I watched the State of the Union Address last night.  I don’t think I’ve ever sat down to watch the whole speech before … in the past I’m sure I was annoyed that it was bumping whatever show I wanted to watch at the time.  Tonight, however, I actually looked forward to hearing about the “state of the union” (thanks to a certain West Wing episode).

I definitely wouldn’t call myself a very political person.  Sure, there are issues I feel fairly strongly about, but I didn’t grow up with an ingrained political affiliation … something I am very grateful for.  My mom grew up Republican, my dad grew up Democrat, and I grew up hearing and seeing both sides of the issues.  I have never been told what to think but rather have been invited to the dialogue.

I have two pet peeves when it comes to politics.  One is blind acceptance, and the other is pessimistic dismissal.  I think it’s foolish to accept words and policies as gospel based solely on the fact that a political figure may share your same religious beliefs.  I also think it’s ridiculous to write off those same words and policies based on the fact that a political figure does not share your same religious beliefs.  It seems to me that many people are so emotionally invested in politics that they fail to truly seek discernment. 

So I’ll end this with a few quotes concerning these pet peeves of mine … one from last night’s address and a couple from a wise artist I’ve loved for years:

Along the way, we have benefited from responsible criticism and counsel offered by members of Congress of both parties. In the coming year, I will continue to reach out and seek your good advice. Yet, there is a difference between responsible criticism that aims for success, and defeatism that refuses to acknowledge anything but failure.  Hindsight alone is not wisdom, and second-guessing is not a strategy.”  President Bush on US involvement in Iraq“Don’t teach me about politics and government; just tell me who to vote for … I don’t wanna know if the answers aren’t easy, so just bring it down from the mountain to me.  I want a new law.”  Derek Webb from “A New Law”“There are two great lies that I’ve heard: ‘The day you eat of the fruit of that tree, you will not surely die’ and that Jesus Christ was a white middle class republican, and if you wanna be saved you have to learn to be like Him.  My first allegiance is not to a flag, a country, or a man.  My first allegiance is not to democracy or blood.  It’s to a King and a kingdom.”  Derek Webb from “A King and a Kingdom”

Leave a Reply

Categories

