Posted by: deerharas | February 9, 2006

02.09.06

So … fun story:

Yesterday morning, one of my RAs came to my office to tell me some good news.  She and her fiancé recently entered a contest in their hometown to win a free wedding … a $10,000 value.  Dresses, tuxes, rings, reception, teeth whitening, massages, acupuncture … everything free.  Evidently over a hundred couples entered.  This past week a panel of judges picked the top four applications, and amazingly, my RA and her fiancé made the final four! 

The next stage of the contest consists of people voting using a ballot that ran in their hometown paper.  However, it turns out that anyone can vote … anyone with a name and phone number.  The woman in charge of the contest faxed me a ballot yesterday with permission to make as many copies as I want.  So now I am on a mission.

I went over to a friend’s house to eat dinner last night, and we ended up spending most of the night calling everyone in our cell phones.  It was actually a good excuse to talk to some people I hardly ever talk to.  Thanks so much to all of you who lent your name to a ballot!  And … if you didn’t get a call from me but would like to vote, please let me know!

Oh, and if you haven’t heard of The Rocket Summer, you’re missing out … it’s young and fun and he’s playing with Relient K at the Coca Cola Bricktown Events Center on March 3rd.  Two concerts in a week (Coldplay, Feb. 27th) … fun times.

Leave a Reply

Categories

