Posted by: deerharas | February 10, 2006

02.10.06

I love finding a new favorite song.

I have only seen a few Grey’s Anatomy episodes, one of them being this past Sunday’s infamous “Code Black.”  I have a bone to pick with this episode.  At one point one of the doctors (or med student, or whatever she is) was complaining to another doctor about how the two of them were just “be-ers” while two of their other doctor friends were doers.  The two “doer” doctors were busy saving people’s lives in a pretty intense situation, while the two “be-er” doctors were sitting on the floor in the hallway.  There was this moment of anticipation … okay, so you don’t like being a be-er; you want to be a doer … what are you going to do about it?  What does she do?  She seduces another doctor in a custodial closet.  The hospital is in a “code black” state of emergency, and the only thing she can think about is herself.

In the final scene of the show, one of the “doer” doctors proceeds to selflessly sacrifice possibly her life on behalf of everyone else in the hospital … which leads me to the real point of this post.  My new favorite song is “In the Sun” sung by Michael Stipe with special guest Chris Martin (it was playing in the final climactic scene).  It started about midway through the song, and I recognized Chris Martin’s voice but knew it wasn’t on any of the Coldplay CDs.  When I found out the song was a duet between Stipe and Martin … I knew it was destined to be a new fave.  It’s released exclusively on iTunes … Stipe remade it on an EP with proceeds going to Gulf Coast relief. 

I remember being in elementary school and falling in love with “Losing My Religion” (I think it was the mandolin).  I also remember that my aunt didn’t approve of the song because she thought it was somehow anti-God.  Years later I saw it on VH1’s greatest songs of the past 25 years or something, and Stipe talked about how the phrase is idiomatic meaning something like being at your wit’s end.  He also said he was trying to recreate “Every Breath You Take.”  Just FYI.

Leave a Reply

Categories

