Posted by: deerharas | February 17, 2006

02.17.06

New mystery …

Last night around 10:45 my cell phone rang.  The number said PRIVATE, which made me think it was the Hall Director on call phone, because it’s set to say that.  Todd was on call, so I figured it was him calling … not so out of the ordinary.  I picked up the phone and the conversation went something like this:

Me: “Hello?”

Mystery Gentleman Caller: “Sarah?”

Me: (Trying really hard to figure out the voice … I had no idea) “Yes …?”

Mystery Gentleman Caller: “Hang on while I switch phones.”

Me: “Who is this?”

(Silence for about two minutes)

Mystery Gentleman Caller: “Sarah?”

Me: “Yeah?”

Mystery Gentleman Caller: “Okay, let me hang up the other phone.”

Me: “Who is this?”

(Another long silence.  At this point it’s beginning to feel a little “the call is coming from inside the house.”)

Mystery Gentleman Caller: “Okay, Sarah?”

And that’s when the signal faded.  And he didn’t call back.  And I still have no idea who he was.

Weird, huh?  The thing is, I don’t have a lot of random guys calling me.  I’ve thought through basically every guy I know, and I am at a loss.  I even called my friend Stacey in Houston last night because I thought maybe it sounded a little like her husband (which somewhat made sense with the whole switching phone thing … they have an upstairs and a baby which could account for the reason he would need to switch phones as well as the amount of time it took to do so).  But no, Randy had been sitting by her on their couch for the past hour. 

I know it’s not a big deal, but it’s bugging me.  There have been a handful of weird little instances like this throughout my life, some of which I’ve actually figured out.  You’ll have to ask me sometime about the mystery blanket, the mystery Camaro, and the mystery Mariposa stamp.  Anyway, any thoughts on who “Mystery Gentleman Caller” could be?  Do tell.

Leave a Reply

Categories

