Posted by: deerharas | February 19, 2006

02.19.06

It’s almost three in the morning, on a Sunday morning at that, and I don’t feel the least bit guilty for staying up so late.  Last week I bought a shirt that says, “I’m sleeping in on Sunday morning.”  This is all thanks to the wonderful addition of a Saturday night service at my church.  I love it.

I hadn’t seen Elizabethtown until tonight.  It was different than I thought it would be.  Somehow I got it in my head that it was about a road trip, which it kind of is, but that doesn’t happen until the last five minutes of the movie.  I’m glad I watched it, but I probably wouldn’t watch it again.  According to IMDB, Crowe has written the screenplays for eight movies, six of which he directed.  Of the eight, I’ve seen seven, and if I had to put them in order of favorite to least favorite, it would look something like this:

1. Say Anything (A boy can hold a boom box up to my window any day … unless he’s a stalker or something.)

2. Fast Times at Ridgemont High (The ultimate 80s movie … “What are you, people?  On dope?”)

3. Almost Famous (Makes me want to ride on a bus and sing “Tiny Dancer.”)

4. Elizabethtown (Hmm … not a fan of Kirsten Dunst’s on again off again southern accent, but I did like her hat.)

5. Singles (I barely remember this movie, but I know I liked it better than these next two.)

6. Jerry Maguire (Ugh, I hate the line “You complete me.”)

7. Vanilla Sky (I didn’t like any of the characters.  Not one.  Visually, I could appreciate this movie, but that was about it.)

Oh, and Katrina didn’t win the free wedding … sad day!  At least this way she gets to get married on the date and at the location she chose.  Again, thanks to all who lent their name to a ballot.

Leave a Reply

Categories

