Posted by: deerharas | March 29, 2006

03.29.06

PROTECT YOUR EYES FROM FLYING SUGAR!

This is one of the warnings printed on the box of cotton candy sugar currently sitting on my kitchen table.  (Thanks to Molly’s bright idea, we had cotton candy at today’s staff meeting.)  I think this might be my new catch phrase … now I just have to make up a motion to go along with it.  My fellow HDs can appreciate … GET OUT OF HARM’S WAY!

So Arlene did a post about running, and I felt inspired.  Running and I have a fickle relationship … at least we have for the past year or so.  Right about this time last year, I was in the best running shape of my life.  I was getting ready for my first 10K, running about 10 to 15 miles a week.  At the end of April I ran the anchor leg of the 5 man relay in the OKC Memorial Marathon, another 6.2 miles, this time improving my time, running nine and a half minute miles.  Like I said … best running shape of my life.  But then the marathon ended, and I told Running we needed a break.  Sadly enough, that break turned into a break-up with only a few flings every month or so.  I guess we didn’t have what it takes to make it as a couple.  Summer came and dates with Running were too hot.  I’m not really sure what happened in the fall, but when winter came, I had yet another excuse to stand Running up.  It’s kind of miserable to get up early to run when it’s cold.  Granted, after running for about five minutes, I usually don’t mind the cold, but those first five minutes are miserable

But now it’s spring, and I am happy to say that Running and I have kissed and made up.  We’ve been seeing each other a lot more regularly.  We even have a couple of special dates coming up.  At first I wasn’t sure I wanted to do the Redbud this year.  The last time I ran a 10K was almost a year ago, and the run is just over a week away.  Also, thanks to my New Year’s Eve eve vomitting escapade and the resulting ER visit bill, I am seriously trying to not spend money.  However, after I got online and saw the cuteness that is this year’s t-shirt, I couldn’t resist.  Isn’t it adorable?

So come April 30th, I’ll be running 7.6 miles alongside my best running pal, Stacey.  Last year we were on the same relay team, her doing the 12K and me doing one of the 10Ks.  This year, however, we’ve worked it out so that we have two relay teams with people willing to run the first two legs together so that we, too, can run alongside one another in the third leg.  Also, I’m pumped that one of my RAs joined my team and is running the 5K right after me.  Now I just have to get to the point where running 7.6 miles won’t actually kill me. 

I checked out my “currently listening” from the library, and I think I love it.  Less than a week until DW!  More exciting still … it turns out that Sandra McCracken (Derek’s wife) will be opening for him … she’s pretty fantastic.  Hmm … what lyrics to leave today … I know!  I pretty much love t-shirts.  I really should count how many I own someday … I would guess it’s over a hundred.  I also pretty much love this Derek Webb song … so much wisdom.  I’m posting the whole song, because all of the lyrics are so good.

They’ll know us by the t-shirts that we wearThey’ll know us by the way we point and stareAt anyone whose sin looks worse than oursWho cannot hide the scars of this curse that we all bear They’ll know us by our picket lines and signsThey’ll know us by the pride we hide behindLike anyone on earth is living rightAnd isn’t that why Jesus diedNot to make us think we’re right When love, love, loveIs what we should be known forLove, love, loveIt’s the how and it’s the whyWe live and breathe and we die They’ll know us by reasons we divide

And how we can’t seem to unify

Because we’ve gotta sing songs a certain styleOr we’ll walk right down that aisleAnd just leave ’em all behind They’ll know us by the billboards that we makeJust turning God’s words to cheap clichés Says “What part of murder don’t you understand?”But we hate our fellow manAnd point a finger at his grave They’ll know us by the t-shirts that we wearThey’ll know us by the way we point and stareTelling ‘em their sins are worse than ours

Thinking we can hide our scars

Beneath these t-shirts that we wear

Leave a Reply

Categories

