Posted by: deerharas | May 29, 2006

05.29.06

Well, Memorial Day weekend is winding down … time for a Xanga update.

It’s been a good weekend, starting Friday with FLOCK putt putt.  Saturday I pretty much was a hermit and worked on cleaning/organizing my apartment.  I took three huge garbage bags full of clothes and one full of shoes to the Hope Center.  I finally caught up on dishes … let’s just say I had some left over from a not so recent holiday.  Sunday was church, and then I made a decision that is haunting me to this very moment.  I layed out.

My arms are disproportionately tan in comparison to my legs, in desperate need of some evening out.  So, I SPF-ed up my arms, chest and back, but oiled up the legs.  I didn’t really think I was getting that burned until I got back inside and saw that I was already completely lobsteresque.  I quickly took a shower, knowing that in a few hours the same act would be torturous, and began to get ready for the big weekend highlight: the concert. 

I’ve been looking forward to seeing G. Love & Special Sauce for the past couple months now, as soon as I found out they were coming to Cain’s.  Their appeal is three fold: #1 – They’re friends with Jack Johnson.  They’ve appeared on a few of his albums, and on the Jack Johnson Austin City Limits episode I saw, Jack brought out G. Love to back him on a song.  #2 – The harmonica … what is it about boys with cool instruments?  #3 – The name … I mean who wouldn’t love a band called G. Love & Special Sauce?

So Lauren and I got there not too long after doors opened, and by this point, I was acutely aware of my sunburn.  There weren’t a ton of people there, no real need to stake out space on the floor yet, so we found a table and chatted until just before the opening act.  Our timing was perfect as we got up just before Intense came on.  We maneuvered right up to the second row.  Well, Intense was anything but intense.  A white rapper from Philadelphia with a Jew-fro (Is that a PC term?  If not, I sincerely apologize) with not much originality.  We stuck it out through his set, however, not wanting to give up our prime spots on the floor.  It was at this point that I was hit with what I like to call the sunburn sickness … that achy, chill-bumpy, cold, light headed feeling.  I was so frustrated … we were so close to the stage, I was so excited to see the band, and now I didn’t even know if I could stand up for five more minutes.  I told Lauren we had to at least try and make it through one song so I could get some up close pictures.

Crazy thing was, as soon as the band came out, I was fine.  I don’t know what it was, maybe adrenaline kicked in, but I stuck it out for about two thirds of the set before I started to feel sick again.  In that two thirds, however, I got some pretty great pics!

I even made a “friend” who took this picture. 

Earlier I asked her if she wanted me to take a picture of her and her friend with the band in the background.  (I often do this, because it is the way that I would want to be treated.  Whenever I see someone taking a picture of a group of people, I always ask them if they want me to take it so they can be in the picture.  This way I feel better about myself when I stop unsuspecting strangers and ask them to take pictures of me and my friends.)  Anyway, this benevolent gesture on my part must have won me favor in her eyes, because she proceeded to offer me pot.  Now I’m a pretty sheltered person, but I’ve seen a handful of people smoking marijuana in my day.  This was the first time, however, that anyone’s ever offered me any.  I suppose that 5th grade anti-drug education worked … I just said no.

Anyway, G. Love is an exceptional entertainer … the drive to Tulsa was totally worth it.  My only complaint is that he didn’t play Baby’s Got Sauce.  Now that’s a classic.  I did get to hear Cold Beverage and I-76, however.  We made it back around 2:00 AM, and I proceeded to fall into bed and sleep uncomfortably the rest of the night.  I had to miss the Paseo Arts Festival today as well as volleyball at church … there was just no way with the sunburn.  I got some Advil and aloe today, so hopefully tomorrow will be better.  Hope everyone had a great weekend … fun times minus the sunburn.

Leave a Reply

Categories

