Posted by: deerharas | July 12, 2006

07.12.06

Time for an update of the actual goings on of my life, not just a collection of musings. I almost went to Missouri today.  Let’s just say that this was not in the travel itinerary.  Two of my coworkers and I went to scope out our intended RA Training retreat site, and in the process got a little off course.  I will say, however, if you’re going to go in the wrong direction for over an hour, the Pimp Van (or Learvan as it has been called) is the vehicle for you … complete with flat screen TV, DVD player, VCR, and track lighting.  Granted, we looked like we were stuck in 1992, but the inside was luxurious.   So as we approached the McDonalds that stretches above the interstate, Todd remarked, “Okay, so I think we’re almost in Missouri.”  Yeah … and the signs saying Joplin was only a few miles away were a giveaway as well.  On the plus side, we might have run into some famous musicians on our “scenic detour.”  As I was walking out of McDonalds, two guys were walking in, and I immediately got a “band vibe.”  These guys just seemed different, not to mention their clothing and hair was way conspicuous for Vinita, Oklahoma.  Camille saw a McDonalds worker ask for one of the guys’ autograph, but come to find out he (McDonalds guy) didn’t even know who the guy (band guy) was.  The supposed “band member” signed something illegible, then got into a van carrying a large trailer, reinforcing my band theory.  Hmm … I’ll probably never know.   Speaking of bands … I officially am going to Austin City Limits!  After seriously praying about my brakes, the repair ended up being inexpensive enough to allow for ACL!  I bought my ticket last week, and today they sent me a sneak peek of the schedule.  Now I’ve never been to a music festival before, but I’m smart enough to figure out that if two bands are performing at the same time, you can’t be in two places at once.  Thankfully there aren’t many overlaps that concern me, but what is up with putting Ben Harper and the Flaming Lips on at the same time?  It’s not really a dilemma for me (I choose Ben, hands down), but it’s just a little frustrating because I definitely wanted to see the Flaming Lips!   More band news:  I am officially stupid.  Back in April, when Cain’s announced that The Fray was coming in July, I immediately wanted to take my seventeen year old cousin.  Rather than getting my tickets then, I reasoned that we’d just get them at the door and avoid service charges and shipping costs.  Not smart.  It turns out that The Fray is more popular than I thought.  So now, rather than paying $20 plus service/shipping, I am going to bid who knows how much on Ebay to get tickets to the stupid sold out concert.  Wish me luck. I do have tickets, however, to Rob Bell’s “Everything Is Spiritual” tour this Friday.  I don’t know that much about Bell (only seen one Nooma video), but he is quite the engaging speaker.  More posting to come on him, I’m sure.   

Happy birthday to my baby brother!  Thirteen years ago I remember my dad mouthing the word “boy” to us from the other side of the hospital glass.  I was so excited to finally have a sibling.

Leave a Reply

Categories

