Posted by: deerharas | July 15, 2006

07.15.06

I love summer Friday afternoons.  Getting off work at noon is fabulous.  I particularly enjoyed yesterday afternoon … no real plans other than sneaking in a last minute bid to win Fray tickets.  So I decided to visit one of my favorite places on campus: the UCO library.  While I enjoy reading and occasionally check out books, my UCO library visits are more often to check out movies for free, which was my intent yesterday afternoon.  I needed a mindless way to pass the time before the auction ended, and watching a movie seemed the perfect escape.  Now you may be wondering why I call the library one of my favorite places on campus.  Is it the vast amount of books waiting at my fingertips?  No.  Is it the random collection of CDs?  No.  Is it the decent selection of films new and old?  No.  My fascination with and love for the UCO library lies in its architecture. 

A four story building, the library has stairs that begin on the ground level and ascend straight up to the fourth floor with no turns or curves.  You can see the top of the stairs from the bottom, and the bottom from the top.  The first time I saw these stairs I thought, “I wanna get married in the UCO library.”  Think about it, girls … how cool would it be to stand at the top of the stairs in your wedding dress, looking down at all of your friends and family and most importantly your soon to be husband?  And guys … imagine seeing your soon to be wife for the first time, looking the most beautiful she has ever looked, slowly coming into focus as she descends the four story staircase.  It’s a beautiful picture.

Now I’m only half serious about getting married in the UCO library, but it is a fun thought every time I frequent it.  And the movies just happen to be on the fourth floor … a terrific reason to take the stairs. 

So yesterday I made the ascent and after a careful search, settled on an 80s John Hughes flick I have been wanting to see for some time.  I knew it was about time to watch “Some Kind of Wonderful” after Lorelai referenced it just before her first date with Luke saying, “Alright, but no taking me to an art museum after hours and then to an empty Hollywood Bowl where you’ll give me a pair of diamond earrings that you bought with your college money, when all the time you’re really in love with your best friend, the drummer, who’s posing as our driver for the evening.”  And let me just say … sad day that I had not seen this movie sooner!  Obviously I am a sucker for quotes, so I thought I’d share some of my faves from the film:

“You know, exposing your skin to sunlight will make you old before your time.  And eventually you’ll look like an albino raisin.”

“Well, I like art, I work in a gas station, my best friend is a tomboy. These things don’t fly too well in the American high school.”

And in my opinion one of the most fabulous last lines of a movie, “You look good wearing my future.”

Oh … and I won my auction!  Fray, here we come!

Leave a Reply

Categories

