Posted by: deerharas | December 20, 2006

Santa … aka Sarah

When I was a kid, I have no idea what my mom got for Christmas.  That is, other than the precious-only-to-mothers handmade crafts I made at school or church.  The reason I say this is because over the years I have gradually taken on the responsibility of buying most of my mom’s Christmas presents with an understanding of reimbursal from my dad.  We’ll just say that gift giving is not my dad’s love language.  Quality time, acts of service, words of affirmation, physical touch … all there.  Gift giving?  No.  I think the only present that he ever picked out and purchased for me himself was a $5 wind it yourself alarm clock from the grocery store … and that’s only because he hates waking me up.  So it’s just understood in our house that if a Christmas present says “From Daddy” either I or my mother actually picked, purchased, and wrapped it.

This year, however, the word is out about my present picking abilities.  Not only am I buying for my mom, but now I have been commissioned to buy for my brother, my father, my four girl cousins, and funny enough, myself.  My brother requested any and all things “Lost,” which you can really only find online, and much like my parents like to avoid traffic in “big cities” so they also are averse to online shopping.  So my brother is getting a t-shirt he requested that says, “I’m a complicated guy, Sweetheart.  – Sawyer”  Does anyone else see the potential for middle school cruelty there?  I wanted to get him the shirt with a picture of Evangeline Lilly that said, “I’d get lost with Kate” but alas, there were none in his size.  I’ll refrain from mentioning any more gifts given the potential for spoiled surprises, that is except for the presents I ordered myself.

Now while I was online ordering my brother’s presents, I thought it might save my mom a little time and stress to just go ahead and order a couple books I’d been eyeing for Christmas and have them sent to my house.  At least this way, she gets them in the mail and can wrap them up for me.  So I ordered Gordon MacDonald’s “Ordering Your Private World” as well as Joel Kilpatrick’s “A Field Guide to Evangelicals and Their Habitat.”  The former was on the pastor recommended shelf at my church (kinda like the “staff picks” at a video rental store) and seemed apropos considering the new year and all, not to mention my desire to be a little more settled and organized before hopefully beginning a new phase in life next fall.  The latter was reviewed in Relevant awhile back, and I recently heard about in a Wired Parrish podcast.  Totally my new favorite website is LarkNews. 

So last night I went to get coffee with a friend, and surprise to me, there was a present in my car seat (wrapped in mossy oak wrapping paper I believe).  Unwrapping it, what did I find?  That’s right, “A Field Guide to Evangelicals and Their Natural Habitat.”  Now that’s the mark of a good present … already having bought it for yourself. 

In other Christmas news, I am thoroughly enjoying the Sufjan Stevens Christmas album.  Or is it albums?  I don’t know; there are like forty songs on it.  I had to get it off iTunes (which I hate to do because I love liner notes so much, and there’s just something about having the pretty CD in your hand) because Randy’s was sold out and Barnes & Noble, Best Buy, and Target don’t even carry it.  Anyway, I love, love, love his version of “O Come, O Come Emmanuel” which happens to be my favorite Christmas song of all time.  So I’m throwing it out there in a fiendish plea for comments … what’s your favorite Christmas song?

Merry Christmas to all and to all a goodnight!

Leave a Reply

Categories

