Posted by: deerharas | February 14, 2007

02.14.07

For the second year in a row, I feel compelled to share my Valentine’s Day playlist, this time with selected favorite lines from each song.

 

You You You You You – The 6ths

“You make me feel like I’m seventeen again.  You make everything beautiful seem true.”

 

Two of Us – Aimee Mann & Michael Penn

            “You and I have memories longer than the road that stretches out ahead.”

 

Let’s Stay Together – Al Green

            “Lovin’ you whether, whether times are good or bad, happy or sad.”

 

Isn’t It Love – Andrew Peterson

            “I know that Your love is the same ‘cause the sun came up today.”

 

For the Love of God – Andrew Peterson

“Now she’s giving you her heart for the love of God, in the name of Jesus, the Groom who gave His life to love his bride.”

and

“Love is not a feeling in your chest; it is bending down to wash another’s feet.”

 

Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels) – The Arcade Fire

            “You change all the lead that’s inside my head to gold.”

 

I Want to Hold Your Hand – The Beatles

            “And when I touch you I feel happy inside.”

 

All My Loving – The Beatles

            “I’ll pretend I am kissing the lips I am missing.”

 

All You Need Is Love – The Beatles

            “Love is all you need.”

 

Steal My Kisses – Ben Harper

“And to see it fall on your simple country dress is like heaven to me I must confess.”

 

Is This Love – Bob Marley & The Wailers

            “We’ll share the shelter of my single bed.”

 

First Day of My Life – Bright Eyes

            “I’m glad I didn’t die before I met you.”           

 

Table for Two – Caedmon’s Call

            “And You know the plans that You have for me, and You can’t plan the ends and not plan the means.”

 

Love Is Different – Caedmon’s Call

            “Love is harder than a word said at the right time, then everything’s alright.”

 

What You Want – Caedmon’s Call

            “You’re softer than a cannon blast, but your effects much longer last.”

            and

“All the freedom in this world could not resist the sweet temptation of your sweet elusiveness.”

 

Behind Closed Doors – Charlie Rich

“She makes me glad that I’m a man.”

 

O Love That Will Not Let Me Go – Christ Community College Ministry (Indelible Grace Series)

“I give Thee back the life I owe, that in Thine ocean depths its flow may richer, fuller be.”

 

Green Eyes – Coldplay

            “I came here with a load, and it feels so much lighter now I’ve met you.”

 

Yellow – Coldplay

            “Look at the stars, see how they shine for you, and everything you do.”

 

Just Like Heaven – The Cure

“Dancing in the deepest oceans, twisting in the water, you’re just like a dream.”

 

I Believe in a Thing Called Love – The Darkness

            “I wanna kiss you every minute, every hour, every day.”

 

Hands Down – Dashboard Confessional

            “My hopes are so high that your kiss might kill me.”

 

Please, Before I Go – Derek Webb

“Like an addict to his fix, so am I to your sweet lips.  The wife of my youth, and my drug of choice”      

 

My Lovely – Eisley

            “I’m lost and alone without you here by my side.”

 

Your Song – Elton John

“I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words how wonderful life is while you’re in the world.”

 

More than Words – Extreme

            “What would you say if I took those words away?”

 

Do You Realize – The Flaming Lips

            “Do you realize that you have the most beautiful face?”

 

Baby’s Got Sauce – G. Love & Special Sauce

            “Baby what I would do for just one look in my direction.”

 

Beautiful – G. Love featuring Tristan Prettyman

            “You bless me, never stress me.”

 

Ghost – Indigo Girls

            “I’d walk into the fingers of your fire willingly.”

 

Power of Two – Indigo Girls

            “Adding up the total of a love that’s true, multiply life by the power of two.”

 

Romeo and Juliet – Indigo Girls

            “You and me babe, how ‘bout it?”

 

Better Together – Jack Johnson

            “Love is the answer at least for most of the questions in my heart.”

 

Banana Pancakes – Jack Johnson

“When the whole world fits inside of your arms, do we really need to pay attention to the alarm?”

 

How Sweet It Is (to Be Loved by You) – James Taylor

            “You brighten up for me all of my days.”

 

Near You Always – Jewel

            “Your hands are in my hair but my heart is in your teeth.”

 

Falling into God – Jill Phillips

            “But if God is love, and God is love, then I have been falling into God.”

 

The Luckiest Guy on the Lower East Side – The Magnetic Fields

“I know Professor Blumen makes you feel like a woman, but when the wind is in your hair you laugh like a little girl.”

 

I’d Do Anything for Love (but I Won’t Do that) – Meatloaf

            “Can you colorize my life?  I’m so sick of black and white.”

 

Love Is Strange – Mickey & Sylvia

            “Baby, oh baby, my sweet baby, you’re the one.”

 

I Melt with You – Modern English

“Dream of better lives, the kind which never hate, dropped in a state of imaginary grace.”

 

I’ll Cover You – Orginal Broadway Cast of Rent

“Live in my house; I’ll be your shelter.  Just pay me back with one thousand kisses.”

 

Try a Little Tenderness – Otis Redding

            “Them young girls, they don’t forget it.  Love is their whole happiness.”

 

In Your Eyes – Peter Gabriel

            “I look to the time with you to keep me awake and alive.”

 

Such Great Heights – The Postal Service

“I am thinking it’s a sign that the freckles in our eyes are mirror images, and when we kiss they perfectly align.”

 

More Adventurous – Rilo Kiley

“And maybe ours is the cause of all mankind, give love to make more, try to stay alive.”

 

With Arms Outstretched – Rilo Kiley

            “And if you want me, you better speak up, I won’t wait.”

 

I’m Doing Everything (for You) – The Rocket Summer

            “Bless your heart, you’ve made me happy again.”

 

If I Could Write – Sam Phillips

            “If I could write, I would set all the words free to follow you.”

 

Kiss Me – Sixpence None the Richer

            “You’ll wear those shoes and I will wear that dress.”

 

Perfume – Sparks

            “That’s why I want to spend my life with you.”

 

Out of My League – Stephen Speaks

            “It’s a masterful melody when she calls out my name to me.”

 

Passenger Seat – Stephen Speaks

            “And I’ve got all that I need right here in the passenger seat.”

 

I Just Called to Say I Love You – Stevie Wonder

“But what it is, though old so new, to fill your heart like no three words could ever do.”

 

Fields of Gold – Sting

            “Will you stay with me, will you be my love among the fields of barley?”

 

Hold Me Now – Thompson Twins

            “An image of you and of me and we’re laughing and loving it all.”

 

Africa – Toto

“It’s gonna take a lot to drag me away from you.  There’s nothing that a hundred men or more could ever do.”

 

Love Love Love – Tristan Prettyman

            “I know most definitely that it’s gonna be you and it’s gonna be me.”

 

Moondance – Van Morrison

            “And all the soft moonlight seems to shine in your blush.”

 

Sweet Thing – Van Morrison

            “And I’ll be satisfied not to read in between the lines.”

 

Jesus, Etc. – Wilco

            “Our love is all of God’s money.”

 

Impulsive – Wilson Phillips

            “Arrows through hearts drawn on a misty window.”

 

Worst Case Scenario – Zane Williams

            “If all your teeth fell out, I’d make you shakes to drink.”

 

Obviously, some of the songs I love more for their sound than their lyrics … hence the stretch on some of these.  Happy Valentine’s Day!

Responses

  1. […] a few days ago that Valentine’s Day was fast approaching and unlike previous years (2006, 2007, 2008, 2009) I had no V-Day blog just itching to be posted.  I figured I had better get on that.  […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

