Posted by: deerharas | March 22, 2007

03.22.07

I just submitted my first letter to the editor.  I’m usually somewhat uninformed, and I wouldn’t exactly call myself an involved citizen, but occasionally I do get a little impassioned about certain things and tonight happened to be one of those occasions.

In my low tech world, I still use my VCR to record shows if I’m going to be gone.  Having recently lost my VCR remote, tonight I had to manually record LOST.  I caught the beginning of the ten o’clock news immediately following, and I happened to watch the lead story about a three year old who drowned in the bathtub.  Eyewitness News 5 was “on the scene” to report the story … lots of close ups on the somewhat trashed out front porch and such.  I was a little put off by this, but didn’t think much of it until I heard the reporter say, “We were there as police delivered the devastating news to his dad minutes later …”  Then they actually SHOW the police telling the father that his son has just died in a horrific accident.  The father is screaming out in disbelief, and I am sitting in my living room in disbelief that they would choose to air such a personal, and what should have been private, moment.  I called the news station first, wondering if anyone else had called to complain.  However, the girl I spoke to didn’t know anything because her shift had just started.  I then called my dad, a newspaper reporter, to make sure I wasn’t overreacting.  He too felt the coverage to be invasive and in poor taste.  So then I wrote my letter.  We’ll see if it makes it in.

In other news, my momentous days were pretty great … lots of blogworthiness, but maybe not just yet.  No internet for a few days … perhaps I’ll get a lot accomplished without it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

