Posted by: deerharas | November 9, 2007

A Savior on Capitol Hill

I wouldn’t say I’m a very political person.  Part of that is laziness, and part is disillusionment.  I feel like people who really care about politics believe that politics can change things.  “If we could just elect the right person …”  I suppose I just don’t see politics as the answer to all the world’s problems.  I believe that true change begins with changed people.  And while I am thankful for government, I am also disheartened by its fallibility.  I am reading a book about the kingdom of God, and in the foreword (written by Don Miller) he recounts a conversation with a friend in which his friend says, “when Jesus comes, when Jesus reigns, we will be amazed at how differently and perfectly He governs.”  Amen.  Come, Lord Jesus.

So considering that in the coming months “politics” will be the news of the day, I thought I’d share some lyrics from a man I admire who has quite a lot to say about politics.  (i.e. “My first allegiance is not to a flag, a country or a man.  My first allegiance is not to democracy or blood.  It’s to a King and a kingdom.)  For your reading (and perhaps listening) pleasure: Derek Webb’s “A Savior on Capitol Hill”

I’m so tired of these mortal men

With their hands on their wallets and their hearts full of sin

Scared of their enemies, scared of their friends

And always running for re-election

So come to D.C. if it be thy will

Because we’ve never had a savior on Capitol Hill

 

You can always trust the devil or a politician

To be the devil or a politician

But beyond that friends you’d best beware

‘Cause at the Pentagon bar they’re an inseparable pair

And as long as the lobbyist are paying their bills

We’ll never have a savior on Capitol Hill

 

All of our problems gonna disappear

When we can whisper right in the president’s ear

He could walk right across the reflection pool

In his combat boots and ten thousand dollar suit

 

You can render under to Caesar everything that’s his

You can trust in his power to come to your defense

It’s the way of the world, the way of the gun

It’s the trading of an evil for a lesser one

So don’t hold your breath or your vote until

You think you’ve finally found a savior up on Capitol Hill

Oh, and yay for Derek’s song “Name” gaining quite the audience last night on Grey’s Anatomy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

