Posted by: deerharas | December 11, 2007

Free Rice

Every week in staff meeting I begin with “Staff Share Time” (cheesy, I know) in which I ask a question that each of my girls has to answer … questions like your number one pet peeve, the first thing you ever wanted to be when you grew up, your closest celebrity encounter, etc.  Last week I had the girls share their favorite website (other than Facebook), and the answers varied from imdb.com to theknot.com (got an engaged one) to the UCO website.  I used this particular staff meeting to promote my new favorite website – freerice.com.  I am incredibly impressed when people come up with creative ways to give.  Soliciting for donations only goes so far, but if you can come up with a product (forthcoming blog on buyshoessavelives.com) or idea that people latch on to that somehow generates profit that in turn goes toward a good cause, that to me is remarkable.  Free rice works as a vocabulary quiz site that donates 20 grains of rice through the United Nations World Food Program for every word guessed correctly.  So, if you have a five minute break at work (or need one from studying), you can spend/waste that time in a productive way by contributing to the needs of the hungry while building your vocabulary.  And, I must say, I’m excited to see that my pop culture exposure has enhanced my vocabulary.  I knew cerulean from a Gilmore Girls episode and watershed from an Indigo Girls song.  Oh, and capacious!  While not a pop culture reference, I did know this word because of an SAT vocab book I think my dad got me awhile back.  It uses silly phrases and pictures to aid in memory, and for capacious there was a picture of a boy wearing a baseball cap probably ten times the size of his head with the phrase underneath “This cap is too spacious.”  It sure came in handy when I was able to guess that capacious meant roomy.  Seriously, check it out … I wanna know everyone’s best vocab level!

Leave a Reply

Categories

