Posted by: deerharas | March 23, 2008

The stars at night are big and bright (clap, clap, clap, clap) …

… deep in the heart of Texas!

In addition to reading to me every night as a child, my dad would often sing to me as well, and I distinctly remember requesting the “perfume” song many a night … “The sage in bloom is like perfume (clap, clap, clap, clap) deep in the heart of Texas.”

I just got back on Friday from my whirlwind tour of Texas, visiting family and friends from Amarillo to San Angelo (with Lubbock and Abilene in between). Four different stops all on or around my birthday meant four different birthday celebrations and even four different birthday cakes! My mom went a little Texas crazy in regard to presents, giving me a Texas flag blanket, Texas salt and pepper shakers, a Texas notepad, etc. I guess she figures this way I won’t forget my home once I’m over 1000 miles away. I was most amused by a little book she gave me entitled “100 Great Things About Texas.” Here’s a fun sampling:

Great Thing #34: Sticky Situation – West Texas women know not to wear lip gloss during a dust storm.

Great Thing #43: Even the Kids Don’t Mind – Everybody ought to have a chance to get their picture taken in a field of bluebonnets. (Yep, my mom has the pics to prove it.)

Great Thing #48: Abilene, Abilene – Most Texas cities have at least one country song named for them. (Oh, if you don’t know, you should! Ask me sometime, and I’ll play it for you … “Abilene, Abilene, prettiest town I’ve ever seen. The women there don’t treat you mean in Abilene.”)

Great Thing #51: See Texas First – You can go to the mountains, the beach, the forest, the lake, or the desert without ever leaving the state.

Great Thing #67: Clap, Clap, Clap, Clap – The stars at night really are big and bright.

Great Thing #78: Drive Friendly – It’s a courtesy in Texas for drivers to pull over to the shoulder to let a faster driver pass. And to acknowledge the courteous act with a wave of the hand or a tap of the brake lights. (Again, yep. On this trip alone, I was both the pass-er and pass-ee, and both gave and received the courtesy wave.)

Great Thing #92: It Rubs off on You – If you’re from Texas, you’re always from Texas. (And I have the presents to prove it.)

Responses

  1. Im from texas! But I live in Maryland now. I miss the night sky


Leave a Reply

Categories

