Posted by: deerharas | May 11, 2008

Entertainer Third, Boss Second, Friend First

While I am completely excited about the upcoming year and all the plans and preparation involved, I must admit that today I am a little sad about the close of this year. I’m already missing the girls’ voices filling West Hall. I’ve had to say some sad goodbyes to residents and RAs that I might not ever see again. And all the doors are naked! It’s kind of depressing walking down the bare hallways without the amazing decorations the RAs worked so hard on. I told Kali that I was keeping my door tag up. 🙂

Before the RAs moved in this year, I made them all “Office” themed door tags. Each girl had a different Office character “welcoming” them to West Hall, complete with a hilarious quote. Probably my favorite was Ashley’s. Dwight welcomed her to West saying, “When my mother was pregnant with me, they did an ultrasound and found she was having twins, and when they did another ultrasound a few weeks later, they discovered that I had resorbed the other fetus. Do I regret this? No. I believe his tissue has made me stronger. I now have the strength of a grown man and a little baby.”

Well, since I was the boss, I decided to make my own door tag and let Michael welcome me. I actually made two, since my office has two doors … one of my very favorite things about my job. Anyway, on the outside of my office, where residents pass by, I had “Would I rather be feared or loved? Um, easy. Both. I want people to be afraid of how much they love me.” And on my inside door that opens up to the RA desk, I had “I guess the atmosphere that I’ve created here is that I’m a friend first and a boss second. Probably an entertainer third.”

Last night was my last “staff development” consisting of a surprise dinner at Ted’s and dessert at an unspecified location. 🙂 In between the two, my RAs took it upon themselves to surprise me. After being told to wait in my office until someone came to get me, I was brought into the lobby where all my girls were standing in a line with their hands behind their backs. They sat me down in a chair and one by one pulled a letter of my name out from behind them, each reciting a line from a poem they wrote for me together as a staff.

Now, as I said before, I am really excited about next year. So excited that it’s been difficult for me to feel sad about leaving. Oh my word, though, I lost it with this poem. It’s probably very “inside joke-ish,” so I’ll just say that I almost killed several of these girls in a freak ditch accident last year …

Staff share time is the West Hall way
Avoiding ditches is not her forte
Rolls of pictures she loves to take
And her pretzel dessert is the best she makes
Hairstyles mark the seasons’ change

Kanye to Derek Webb is her musical range
Abilene is where her roots lie
Yes, without Bahama Mamas she might die
Event of the year is Strangers in the Night

Ran the full marathon with all her might
Entertainer third, Boss second, Friend first
Ending of Beaches made tears burst!
Dear Sarah, “Hanks” for the memories!

They also gave me gift certificates to Randy’s and Bahama Ice along with Twizzlers, Sour Patch Kids and Junior Mints … these girls know me so well! More than any of that, though, I will treasure my framed copy of the poem. They seriously all got together and had a poetry jam session!

On a few occasions I’ve been asked my favorite thing about being a hall director, and I have always answered the same thing … having an RA staff. These girls are absolutely incredible. They are all so beautiful and talented and work so hard to make West Hall a great place to live. They make me look good! More than any other part of my job, I will miss Anna, Melody, Adrienne, Jen, Lindsay, Elizabeth, Ashley, Kali, Cherish, Quita, Amanda, and Stephanie.

Responses

  1. Hey Sarah,
    It was great to meet you at up/rooted Tuesday. I hope you will join us again! Have a good year at Wheaton! 🙂

    Karen


Leave a Reply

Categories

