Posted by: deerharas | September 6, 2008

Fringe & Teal

I hate clothes shopping.  It’s not that I don’t like clothes; quite the contrary.  I actually have a deep appreciation for clothing.  I am pretty particular in fact.  Therein lies my problem.  It’s rare for me to find clothes I really love.  Couple that with the ridiculous cost of most clothing I actually like, and I am doubly frustrated.  There’s an episode of Gilmore Girls (how many times have I written that?) in which Lorelai experiences my same frustration while clothes shopping with Rory.  She laments that there are no clothes for her anymore; “The Lorelai look is out!”  Yeah, well if the past few years have taught me anything clothes-wise, it’s that the Sarah look is out too.  Everything looks so young … and cheap.  Just this week a woman and her daughter came into work, and the mom said something about going shopping with her daughter to make sure she doesn’t end up looking like a hooker.  Yep, that’s how I would characterize much of what’s offered up these days … hooker-esque.

However, over the past couple of weeks I have seen what appears to be a glimmer of hope.  While doing a little back-to-school-clothes-shopping myself, I noticed (much to my delight) a prevalence of teal among the fall fashions.  Even more to my delight did I notice a peppering of fringe!

I’m not exactly sure where my teal obsession stems from.  Over the past year or so, I’ve been really drawn to that color.  I do, however, remember a scene from “The Wedding Planner” in which Jennifer Lopez (as the wedding planner) predicts the failure of a particular marriage down to the month based solely on the fact that the bride chose teal as the color for her bridesmaid dresses.  Well, her teal dissing didn’t stop me from my recent pretty teal nail polish purchase at Urban Outfitters.

The origin of my fringe fanaticism is much more clear.  Remember how the opening credits to The Cosby Show would change theme from season to season?  They had the same music, but always a different style.  Well, on one particular season, all of the Huxtables were decked out in their swankiest attire as they each took a turn dancing with Cliff.  I still remember Sondra in a simple black fringe dress with a little pink jacket.   You probably wouldn’t even notice it until Cliff spins her around and the fringe fulfills its destiny.  I LOVED that dress growing up!  I even talked about duplicating it for a high school dance, although I don’t think I got asked to that particular one.  : )  Fringe even makes its way into my beloved Gilmore Girls.  Rory is convincing Lorelai to attend her community college graduation, and Lorelai mentions looking forward to wearing her graduation cap, “for the tassel, ’cause you know my thing for fringe.”  Most recently I’ve talked about how I wanted to incorporate fringe into my bridesmaid dresses someday.  This prompted quite the eye roll from Sydnie Davidson … you just wait, sister friend!

Mmm … teal bridesmaid dresses with FRINGE!  Wonder what the expiration date is on that one?

Leave a Reply

Categories

