Posted by: deerharas | October 7, 2008

Don’t change that dial!

A few weeks ago I was in the car with my cousin when something on the radio piqued my interest.  (On a side note, can I just say that I LOVE Chicago radio?  Seriously, where have you been all my life XRT?)  On a particular station (not XRT)  they run a segment every evening in which a listener gets to pick a nine song playlist.  Jayme turned to me and said, “You should do that!”  So I started thinking, if I could pick any nine songs to play for all the world (ha) to hear, which ones would I choose?  I thought this would make an excellent blog topic, so the other day I started skimming my iTunes and making a list.  This proved to be quite the difficult task.  I wanted to pick songs that flowed well together yet still represented my eclectic interests.  Then I was a little overwhelmed by all the possibilities.  All of that to say that I didn’t like the way my list was shaping up, so I decided to take it in a slightly different direction.

Does anyone remember that commercial a few years ago with a couple sitting in a car listening to Don McLean’s “American Pie”?  I have no idea what it was advertising, but the gist was that they were about to go to the beach but didn’t want to go until the song was over.  I started thinking about radio friendly tunes and found it was much easier to come up with a list of “sit in the car ’til it’s over” songs.  So, here is my top ten list of songs that would definitely warrant a stop on any radio scan of mine:

Fire & Rain – James Taylor
Losing My Religion – R.E.M.
Mr. Jones – Counting Crows
Daniel – Elton John
Free Fallin’ – Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
More than Words – Extreme
Dust in the Wind – Kansas
Fields of Gold – Sting
Hotel California – The Eagles
Africa – Toto

So how about you?  What’s the one (or ten) song(s) that you would never change the station on?

Responses

  1. Alright, Sarah. Some of these aren’t exactly radio friendly, and I tried and tried to just do 10, but I couldn’t bring myself to take any of these songs off the list. That being said, here are 11 songs I would NEVER change the station on! Thanks for the challenge!

    Sweet Thing- Van Morrison
    The Littlest Birds- Be Good Tanyas
    Scenic World- Beirut
    Tomorrow Is A Long Time- Bob Dylan
    Les Jours Tristes- Yann Tiersen
    59th Street Bridge Song- Simon & Garfunkel
    Back to the Earth- Rusted Root
    Perpetuum Mobile- Penguin Cafe Orchestra
    Kehna Ghalat Ghalat to Chhupana Sahi Sahi- Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan
    Fireworks- Animal Collective
    Let the Cool Goddess Rust Away- Clap Your Hands Say Yeah


Leave a Reply

Categories

