Posted by: deerharas | July 4, 2009

And my soul wells up with hallelujahs.

As I type this I am on a plane heading to Texas.  I haven’t been home since Christmas, so needless to say I’m a little jazzed.  The plan was to use these couple hours to get through at least one more chapter of assigned reading for my Christian Theology intensive class coming up in a few weeks.  (I’ve read/taken notes over 3 … out of 37.)  However, as the plane began to take off and I looked out my window to see Lake Michigan just beyond the Chicago skyline, I was just a little overwhelmed.  I always try to pick a window seat whenever I fly because how often is one privileged with such a view?  Skyline, lake, clouds, Midwestern farmland, whatever … I soak it in.  As we ascended further into the immaculate brightness of clouds that wouldn’t allow me to glance out the window for more than a couple seconds, my heart began to sing the words of a chorus I haven’t thought of in years.

And my soul wells up with hallelujahs.

As soon as the pilot gave the okay for electronic devices, I pulled out my laptop to find the song that upon playing sounded like an old friend.  As we rose above the clouds I could once again look out my window and sing (albeit silently … although I may have been humming; I’m not sure) along with Chris,

“Oh praise him all his mighty works,
There is no language where you can’t be heard,
Your song goes out to all the earth,
Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah”

This beautiful meditation on general revelation then called to mind another song, this one a bit more in recent memory.  Last Sunday began a sermon series on animals at my church in Glen Ellyn, and at the close we sang one of my favorite hymns.  It’s just too good to only quote a line or two, so you get the whole thing … best lines bolded.  Perhaps you can worship along with me as you read or even sing.  Happy 4th of July, friends.  The Lord is King, let the heavens ring.  God reigns, let the earth be glad.

This Is My Father’s World

This is my Father’s world
And to my listening ears
All nature sings and round me rings
The music of the spheres

This is my Father’s world
I rest me in the thought
Of rocks and trees, of skies and seas
His hands the wonders wrought

This is my Father’s world
The birds their carols raise
The morning light, the lily white
Declare their Maker’s praise

This is my Father’s world
He shines in all that’s fair
In the rustling grass, I hear him pass
He speaks to me everywhere

This is my Father’s world
Oh let me ne’er forget
That though the wrong seems oft so strong
God is the Ruler yet

This is my Father’s world
The battle is not done
Jesus who died shall be satisfied
And heaven and earth be one

This is my Father’s world
Why should my heart be sad?
The Lord is King, let the heavens ring
God reigns, let the earth be glad

Leave a Reply

Categories

