Posted by: deerharas | February 14, 2010

14 Songs for February 14th

I realized a few days ago that Valentine’s Day was fast approaching and unlike previous years (2006, 2007, 2008, 2009) I had no V-Day blog just itching to be posted.  I figured I had better get on that.  So with no real “relationships” thoughts to share this go around, I thought I’d do a throw back to my early blogging days and share my 2010 Valentine’s Day playlist … the annotated version.  🙂  So here for your (hopefully) listening pleasure, I give you 14 love songs I’ve loved this year:

Into the Mystic – Van Morrison
I had heard the original a few times, but didn’t fall in love with it until XRT played the Swell Season version on their Friday Feature featuring (haha) Van Morrison.  Gah, what a GREAT SONG.
I wanna rock your gypsy soul
Just like way back in those days of old
And magnificently we will fall as we sail into the mystic

You Make My Dreams – Hall and Oates
Daryl and John are definitely hit manufacturers.  I must admit, I’m a little partial in light of one such hit (Sara Smile) despite their misspelling of my name.  This song, however, stood out this year thanks to the Ferris Bueller-esque scene in 500 Days of Summer.  Who doesn’t want to break into song and dance along with that hook?
Well well you (ooh ooh ooh ooh)
You make my dreams come true (you ooh you you ooh ooh you ooh)

The Book of Love – The Magnetic Fields
I found this band thanks to a lovely little independent film back in 2004.  I am thoroughly amused by the often quirky and cynical lyrics of Stephin Merritt.  This song, however, is just simple and beautiful.
The book of love has music in it
In fact that’s where music comes from
Some of it is just transcendental
Some of it it is just really dumb
But I, I love it when you sing to me
And you, you can sing me anything

Father and Daughter – Paul Simon
This one’s a long favorite, spanning back to when I surprised my then elementary-school-aged brother with a trip to San Angelo to see The Wild Thornberrys Movie since it was no longer playing in Abilene.  This song made sitting through an hour and a half of Nickelodeon animation totally worth it.  I was reminded of it again a few weeks ago in the grocery store after witnessing a simple moment of affection between a father and his young daughter.
I believe the light that shines on you will shine on you forever
And though I can’t guarantee there’s nothing scary hiding under your bed
I’m gonna stand guard like a postcard of a golden retriever
And never leave ’til I leave you with a sweet dream in your head

Heart of Gold – Neil Young
I heard a cover of this one recently which brought the harmonica heavy original back to my musical forefront.  🙂  The opening lines are particularly poignant and while he’s basically lamenting his own inability to sustain relationship, I am particularly drawn to them these days.
I want to live, I want to give
I’ve been a miner for a heart of gold
It’s these expressions I never give
That keep me searching for a heart of gold
And I’m getting old

Unfailing Love – Jimmy Needham
This one’s fun.  My church recently did a series on love, relationships, etc. … all that “yucky love stuff.”  A member of the praise team sang this song at the end of one of the services, and I don’t think there was a single girl in the place that didn’t want to shout “Yes!” after the soulful climactic “Be … my … wife …”
You’re my unfathomable, precious, unimaginable joy
And you’re exceedingly exciting and abundantly more than I can ask for
With your hand in mine we will pass through time and space
And every second, every minute, every hour of every day I’ll say …

One Day – Matisyahu
Not your typical love song, I suppose, but an eschatological hope for new creation to me has love written all over it.  And it’s just an awesome song.
All my life I’ve been waiting for
I’ve been praying for
For the people to say
That we don’t wanna fight no more
There’ll be no more war
And our children will play
One day, one day, one day

Low Rising – The Swell Season
I looked up synonyms for sexy (because I just feel awkward using that word … I know, I’m silly) and was given the word “toothsome.”  Yeah, not so much.  There’s just something about this song, though.  Hansard’s resolve toward restoration from the depths of relationship hell is just captivating.
I wanna sit you down and talk
I wanna pull back the veils and find out what it is I’ve done wrong
I wanna tear these curtains down
I want you to meet me somewhere tonight in this old tourist town …

When It Don’t Come Easy – Patty Griffin
I was introduced to this song via the opening act of a Waterdeep show I caught last fall.  I wanted to cry at the beauty of such a love that endures and pursues despite sometimes being one sided.
But if you break down
I’ll drive out and find you
If you forget my love
I’ll try to remind you
And stay by you
When it don’t come easy

Love Vigilantes – New Order
How did I not know this song until this year?  I heard Sam Beam cover it last May and didn’t realize it wasn’t his own until I heard the original playing in a Gap dressing room.  His slow version is more in tune with the song’s tragic ending, while the upbeat original somehow manages to highlight the unexpected twist of events.
I want to see my family
My wife and child waiting for me
I’ve got to go home
I’ve been so alone, you see

Let My Love Open the Door – Pete Townshend
I re-fell in love with this one thanks to Steve Carell’s rendition in Dan in Real Life.  I especially like the Sondre Lerche cover (whom Jayme and I got to see last fall .. even though he didn’t play this one).
When people keep repeating
That you’ll never fall in love
When everybody keeps retreating
But you can’t seem to get enough
Let my love open the door … to your heart

Head Over Heels – Tears for Fears
Hmm … not much to say on this one except I never get tired of it.  It’s the keyboard intro … and the concluding la, la, la, la, la, la, la, la, la, la, la, la.  And maybe I get the whole unrequited love thing.  🙂
Something happens and I’m head over heels
I never find out ’til I’m head over heels
Something happens and I’m head over heels
Don’t take my heart
Don’t break my heart
Don’t, don’t, don’t throw it away

Good Things – BoDeans
Even though it came out in 1991, I only found this one this summer … thanks to XRT.  It’s my official “crush” song, despite its improper grammar.
No, no, no
Don’t pass me over
No, no, no
Don’t pass me by
See, I can see
Good things for you and I

Don’t Forget Me – Neko Case
Again, didn’t realize it was a cover until I heard the original in a “This American Life” segment on amnesia.  A nostalgic plea to a lover long gone, Case’s rendition beautifully captures the ache of a relationship for which memories are all that’s left to grasp.
Don’t forget me
Don’t forget me
Make it easy on me just for a little while
You know I think about you
Let me know you think about me too

Okay friends, how ’bout you?  What’s your favorite love (in any sense of the word) song of the past year?  Of all time?

Responses

  1. “I’m waiting to give you whatever the world my bring/ I’ll give you my life because I don’t own anything/ I use to believe the bottom was all that I had until now/ I’ll give you my life if you give me yours somehow” -New Years Project by Further Seems Forever

    “You and I are like when fire and the ocean floor collide” -Rocks Tonic Juice Magic by Saves The Day

    “Did you see the way she smiled at him/ Like there’s nothing in the world but them/ It remins me of the way things use to be/ She don’t have to say/ What her face said anyway/ It’s the way she use to smile at me” -Way She smiles by Drag The River

    “Don’t worry I’ll catch you/ Don’t worry I’ll catch you/ Don’t ever worry/ No need for reminding/ You’re still all that matters to me” – I’ll Catch You by The Get Up Kids

    All I can think of right now with no ipod in hand


Leave a Reply

Categories

