Posted by: deerharas | June 29, 2010

Taking suggestions …

Well hello, friends.  It’s been awhile.  And while I would love to recount some of the more interesting aspects of the past three months, I think for now I’ll break back into the blogging scene with a little solicitation for advice.

I love reading.  I have my dad to thank for that.  Without fail he read to me every night as a child.  Dr. Seuss, The Berenstain Bears, Ramona Quimby, Roald Dahl … some of my best memories are of bedtime story time.  To quote Meg Ryan’s character in You’ve Got Mail, “When you read a book as a child, it becomes part of your identity in a way that no other reading in your whole life does.”  Yes, Kathleen Kelly, I concur.

Unfortunately, higher education seems to beat the love of reading right out of me.  It was that way in college, and grad school followed suit.  However, it’s that time again.  Schoooooool’s … out … for … summer!  Schoooooool’s … out … FOREVER!!!  Which means reading’s back in.

And that’s where you come in.  I need suggestions.  I am audaciously attempting to read nine books before August 14th in hopes of winning a raffle for a $100 gift card to Borders.  Hey, just by signing up I got a free dinner from Noodles & Company.  🙂  Out of the nine, I have to read one biography, one book set in a different country, and one novel.  The rest are my choice.  I am particularly looking for biography suggestions (preferably not 900 page biographies on John Adams or Herbert Hoover, as intriguing as those recommendations are 😉 ), although I am anxious to hear your thoughts on any worthwhile books.

So how ’bout it, friends?  What should I read this summer?

Responses

  1. Pilgrim at tinker creek by Annie Dillard or one of anne rice’s novels about Jesus

  2. “Bono” Michka Assayas
    “A Prayer for Owen Meany” John Irving

  3. I’m a big fiction buff and one of my favorite novels I read recently is set in England. It’s called “The Thirteenth Tale” by Diane Setterfield. Another really impactful novel I read (based on some true material) was “The Help” by Kathryn Stockett.

    One of my favorite books of all time is a biography called “The Hiding Place” by Corrie Ten Boom (powerful holocaust story).

    Let me know if you need more suggestions!


Leave a Reply

Categories

